Denny Hamlin wins his first race at Michigan International Speedway. Kurt Busch won the pole. Greg Biffle led the most laps, but finished 15th. Late in the race, Dale Earnhardt Jr. hit the wall, bringing out the caution with 10 to go. Denny Hamlin took the lead on the restart. On the last lap, Matt Kenseth was charging hard, but nearly wrecked his car but saved it, giving Hamlin the win.
The Chase will come fast, and drivers need to start getting good consistent finishes. Many drivers who were thought to be contenders and are not include Jaime McMurray, Joey Logano, David Reutimann, Jeff Burton, and Brian Vickers. Many are also in danger of missing the Chase, including Greg Biffle, Tony Stewart, and Mark Martin. Jeff Gordon is almost assured of a Chase Wild Card spot, securing two wins this season, and the second spot will be given to Tony Stewart, unless Brad Keselowski moves into the top 20 in points. The top 10 in points are:
Carl Edwards:532
Kevin Harvick: -20(behind)
Dale Earnhardt Jr.: -27
Kyle Busch: -29
Jimmie Johnson: -29
Matt Kenseth: -41
Kurt Busch: -41
Ryan Newman: -76
Denny Hamlin: -77
Clint Bowyer: -77 

No comments:

Post a Comment